Thinking about deleting your YouTube channel? it’s actually a relatively straightforward process. On YouTube, click on your profile icon in the top right-hand corner of your screen, and select ‘Settings,’ then ‘Advanced Settings. Now, this is where things will start to get scary. At the bottom of the screen is a "delete channel" button. Don't worry. Clicking this button will not do anything as you still need to provide your password. Once you've done that, then you will be directed to the actual decision-making pages.
How Can I Permanently Delete My YouTube Channel?
Let's begin by permanently deleting your channel. This is going to wipe out all of your videos, the subscribers to your channel, all and any forms of engagements, your subscriptions to other channels, and your search and watch history. It will also remove your settings, preferences, and recommendations as a viewer.
- You can permanently delete your YouTube channel via the account settings menu using a web browser.
- If you don't wish to delete your channel, you can hide it instead, making it private to everyone but you.
- Once a YouTube channel is deleted, you can’t recover it, but you can make a hidden channel public again.
Deleting your YouTube channel is quick and relatively easy to do.
Just know that deleting your channel means deleting all of your videos, comments, playlists, and more. Once you have deleted your account, all that data is gone forever - there's no way to recover it.
If you want a temporary solution, you can also hide your channel, making everything on the account private to everyone but you. Youtube will permanently delete only your comments and replies. You can always make a hidden channel public again by simply filling out a form.
Let's see how to delete your YouTube channel or temporarily hide it.
Deleting a YouTube channel might seem like a heroic effort, but surprisingly it is effortless. You can delete your YouTube channel in as little as 10 minutes. Just follow the given steps to delete your channel permanently from YouTube.
How to delete Your YouTube channel:
Step 1: Log in to YouTube with the channel you wish to delete.
Step 2: In the top right section, click your account > YouTube settings.
Step 3: Under 'Account settings,’ select Overview.
Step 4: Under the channel's name, select 'Advanced.’
Step 5: In the bottom section, select 'Delete channel' (you may see Delete content instead). If prompted, enter your sign-in details.
Step 6: Select I want to delete my content permanently.
Step 7: Select the boxes to confirm you want to delete your channel.
Step 8: Select 'Delete my channel' (you may see delete my content instead).
After the deletion of the YouTube channel, all the data associated with the channel, such as watch time, etc. will still be a part of the aggregate reports but will not be attributed to the deleted channel. Apart from this, the channel URL and channel name will no longer be visible or searchable in YouTube Analytics.
How to Hide Your YouTube Channel
If you feel that deleting the channel is a step too far, consider the "Hide Channel" option instead. This will turn private your channel, likes, users subscribed to your channel, and your subscriptions to other channels. It will also permanently delete the comments you posted, but it will not delete your search and watch history. You will be prompted to tick all of the checkboxes to confirm you understand what will happen to your channel if you choose to hide it. This option, fortunately, does allow you to re-enable your channel at any time. When your channel is hidden from the public view, you will see the message, "Your YouTube channel has content but has been disabled," on your YouTube video manager page.
If you do want to quit the YouTube platform, here's my advice. Think long and hard before clicking that button. If you're finding the entire process too frustrating, if you think YouTube is just against you, or you're simply burnt out, there is nothing wrong with taking a break. Many video creators do this.
The process to hide a channel is pretty much the same. You will just be picking another option on the "Delete account" page.
1. Visit your YouTube account in a web browser.
2. Scroll down the left side of the Youtube homepage and click "Settings."
3. In the "Account" tab of the Settings menu, click "View advanced settings" in the "Your YouTube channel" section.
4. Click the blue "Delete Channel" link.
5. On the next page, you'll be given two options: "I want to hide my channel" and "I want to delete my content permanently." Choose "I want to hide my channel."
6. A drop-down menu will appear and tell you what will be hidden and permanently deleted. Check all the boxes and click "Hide My Channel."
7. A pop-up will appear asking to confirm that you want your content hidden. Click "Hide My Content."
8. Your channel will now be hidden. If you possess a lot of content on your channel, it can take up to a minute to complete the process.
Over time, YouTube has become a giant video platform, and due to some recent changes, it’s a pretty confusing one. It can be hard for first-time creators and brands who want to grow a following to tell what rules apply to you. What “counts” as a video view? How to measure your success? and more. And while the Google-owned platform isn’t going anywhere any time soon, when it comes to building an audience with video, it’s no longer the only option for your business. If you’re considering removing your channel from the old ’Tube, read on to learn why that may be a smart move, how to get rid of it for good, and what to do once you’ve moved on.
Not quite ready to hit “delete” on your YouTube channel? Consider hiding it instead. Keep in mind that when you hide or delete your channel, you permanently delete all Community posts, comments, and replies.